← Compound library
Epithalon
A tetrapeptide studied for aging biology. Most evidence is animal or laboratory, with one older controlled clinical study in a retinal condition.
The basics
| Human protocol on record | None published |
|---|---|
| Animal or laboratory figures | 9 |
| Published records retrieved | 40 |
| Registered trials | 0 |
| Certificate of analysis | Pending, available on request |
| Regulatory status | Research-grade material, no approved human use |
1. The protocol on record
Hard disclaimer. Figures below are transcribed from a published study or an approved label exactly as the source states them. They record what researchers administered in a trial population, not instructions for any person, and none of it is adjusted to you. Most compounds here have no approved human use. Do not act on any of it without a licensed prescriber who knows your history.
Amounts and schedules, human record
No published human protocol exists for Epithalon in the cited record. No amount, frequency or schedule can be given here without inventing it, and this page does not invent figures.
Animal and laboratory models (not human figures)
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female transgenic FVB/N mouse HER-2/neu breast-cancer model, epithalon arm | 1 mg | 5 times a week | not stated | subcutaneous | from the 2nd month of life to death | source |
| Male LIO rat DMH colon-carcinogenesis model, epithalon group 2 | 1 microg | 5 days a week | not stated | subcutaneous | during the whole experiment | source |
| Male LIO rat DMH colon-carcinogenesis model, epithalon groups 3 and 4 | 1 microg | 5 days a week | not stated | subcutaneous | after termination of carcinogen injections, or during the period of DMH exposure only | source |
| Male LIO rat DMH colon-carcinogenesis model, epithalon group 2 | 1 micro g | five times a week | not stated | not stated | 6 months, from the first injection of DMH till the end of the experiment | source |
| Male LIO rat DMH colon-carcinogenesis model, epithalon groups 3 and 4 | 1 micro g | five times a week | not stated | not stated | after termination of the carcinogen injections, or during the period of DMH exposure (first 5 weeks of the experiment) | source |
| Urethane-anesthetized male Wistar rat motor cortex study, epithalon infusion | 2 ng | single infusion | not stated | intranasal | single infusion followed by 30-minute recording | source |
| Male LIO rat colon-carcinogenesis model, carcinogen challenge (DMH, not epithalon) | 21 mg/kg body weight | weekly, at a single dose | not stated | subcutaneous | five injections | source |
| Male LIO rat colon-carcinogenesis model, carcinogen challenge (DMH, not epithalon) | 21 mg/kg body weight | weekly, at a single dose | not stated | subcutaneous | five injections | source |
| SHR mouse chromosome-aberration study, melatonin comparison arm (not epithalon) | 20 mg/liter | not stated | night hours | with drinking water | not stated | source |
Half-life and why the schedule looks like that
The cited record states no half-life, clearance, or duration of action for epithalon in any species. "Not stated in the cited record." What the record does state is dosing frequency in animal studies, without any pharmacokinetic basis for it: - Female transgenic FVB/N HER-2/neu mice received 1 mg subcutaneously 5 times a week, from the 2nd month of life to death (PMID:12459848). - Male LIO rats in colon-carcinogenesis models received 1 microg subcutaneously 5 days a week / five times a week, in various regimens (PMID:12049808, PMID:12964022). - Female C3H/He mice received 0.1 microg 5 times a week (PMID:16634527); female and male rats received 0.1 microg 5 times a week from the age of 4 mont
Handling and storage
- Lyophilised storage: Not stated in the cited record. - Storage after reconstitution: Not stated in the cited record. - Temperature: Not stated in the cited record. - Light: Not stated in the cited record. - Stability duration: Not stated in the cited record.
These figures summarise what published research and approved labels describe. They are educational, not a recommendation or a personal protocol. Any dose, schedule, or decision to use a compound belongs with a licensed prescriber.
Open the interactive builder for reconstitution maths and a calendar →
2. Safety and harm reduction
Reported adverse effects
| Effect | How often reported | Population | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| None reported in the cited record | frequency not stated | not applicable | not applicable |
Cautions stated in the literature
- A 2026 orthopaedic review states that although preclinical studies of peptides including epithalon are promising, "there is a current lack of clinical trials" (PMID:41490200).
- A 2025 in vitro diabetic retinopathy study states that more mechanistic investigations are needed to confirm Epitalon's benefits and safety (PMID:40493162).
Stop and get help
- A severe or worsening reaction of any kind after exposure.
- Signs of an allergic reaction, such as rash, itching, swelling, or difficulty breathing.
- Signs of injection-site infection, such as spreading redness, warmth, pain, swelling, or discharge.
- Any effect that is unexpected and persistent.
Epithalon at Peptara Labs
Open the Epithalon pageRead the third-party certificate of analysis before anything else. Research-grade material, research use only.