GHK-Cu
A naturally occurring copper peptide studied mostly for skin remodeling and wound healing. Its strongest human result is an older randomized ulcer study.
The basics
| Human protocol on record | 5 figures |
|---|---|
| Animal or laboratory figures | 1 |
| Published records retrieved | 35 |
| Registered trials | 3 |
| Certificate of analysis | Published by the partner |
| Regulatory status | Research-grade material, no approved human use |
1. The protocol on record
Amounts and schedules, human record
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Multicenter, randomized, evaluator-blinded, placebo-controlled clinical study, diabetic neuropathic plantar ulcers | not stated (applied as a metered dose; no figure published) | daily | not stated (treatment commenced immediately after initial wound debridement) | topical (gel) | not stated | source |
| Open-label, prospective, single-arm pilot study, 1000 patients, scalp hair regrowth; injectable formulation combining copper tripeptide-1 with growth factors and thymosin beta-4 | not stated | once every 3 weeks | not stated | intradermal injection into the scalp | eight sessions (follow-up 2 months after completion and at 1 year) | source |
| Open-label, single-center study, scalp scrub plus a serum containing copper tripeptide-1 for mild to moderate dandruff | not stated | not stated (described as continuous use) | not stated | topical (scalp) | day 1 to day 15 | source |
| Open-label, prospective real-world study, gel containing copper tripeptide-1 for acne scars in females | not stated | not stated | not stated | topical | 45 days (assessments at day 21 and day 45) | source |
| Phase 2 trial, recruiting, acute skin wound healing (trial registration only; the cited record carries no protocol detail beyond title, phase and status) | not stated | not stated | not stated | topical (gel) | not stated | source |
Animal and laboratory models (not human figures)
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mouse model (C57BL/6), cigarette-smoke-induced skeletal muscle dysfunction | 0.2 and 2 mg/kg | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | source |
Half-life and why the schedule looks like that
Handling and storage
Open the interactive builder for reconstitution maths and a calendar →
2. Safety and harm reduction
Reported adverse effects
| Effect | How often reported | Population | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ulcer infection | 7% in the GHK-Cu gel group versus 34% in the vehicle group (p < 0.05) | Multicenter, randomized, evaluator-blinded, placebo-controlled study, adults with diabetic neuropathic plantar ulcers | PMID: 17147644 |
| No local or systemic adverse effects were reported | None reported | Open-label, prospective real-world study, females with acne scars, topical gel containing copper tripeptide-1 in a multi-ingredient blend | PMID: 41001334 |
| No specific adverse effect named; treatment described as well tolerated under physical examination, questionnaires and laboratory examination | Frequency not stated | Open-label, single-arm pilot study, 1000 patients receiving intradermal scalp injections of a multi-active formulation containing copper tripeptide-1 | PMID: 29482481 |
| No significant systemic toxicity reported at the studied doses | Frequency not stated | Mouse model of silicosis | PMID: 38879894 |
Cautions stated in the literature
- Unapproved peptides marketed direct to patients, GHK-Cu among them, have scarce rigorous human safety data, and there is potential for serious harm to patients (PMID: 41966639).
- Emerging peptides including GHK-Cu are often perceived as low risk despite an absence of efficacy or safety data, and significant heterogeneity exists in dosing and route of administration (PMID: 42578445).
- Most of these peptide therapies remain unapproved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and clinical evidence in humans is limited; the review states their use should be guided by careful clinical judgment and ongoing evaluation of emerging evidence (PMID: 42635865).
- Further studies are needed before most new peptides can be used safely in humans (PMID: 42123471).
- A systematic review of GHK-Cu in aesthetic medicine notes a paucity of standardized clinical guidelines and that findings are constrained by methodological variability and a limited number of well-designed clinical trials (PMID: 42619529).
Stop and get help
- A severe reaction, or any reaction that is worsening rather than resolving.
- Signs of an allergic reaction, such as hives, swelling of the face or airway, or difficulty breathing.
- Signs of infection at an application or injection site, such as spreading redness, warmth, swelling, pus, or fever.
- Any unexpected and persistent symptom that begins after exposure, whether or not it appears in this record.
Pairings
BPC-157 and GHK-Cu
Named together in the same review articles, but never tested together. We say that plainly here, and show why researchers list them side by side.
Open the pairing brief →CJC-1295 and GHK-Cu
Named together in the same review articles, but never tested together. We say that plainly here, and show why researchers list them side by side.
Open the pairing brief →GHK-Cu and Ipamorelin
Named together in the same review articles, but never tested together. We say that plainly here, and show why researchers list them side by side.
Open the pairing brief →GHK-Cu and TB-500
Two peptides discussed for wound healing. One early human pilot put both in the same multi-ingredient formula, which is not the same as testing the pair.
Open the pairing brief →Read the third-party certificate of analysis first. Research-grade material, research use only.