← Compound library
Semax
A heptapeptide studied for cognition and neuroprotection. The outcome evidence is mostly animal, and the human records are small imaging studies and one combined-procedure study.
The basics
| Human protocol on record | 3 figures |
|---|---|
| Animal or laboratory figures | 5 |
| Published records retrieved | 15 |
| Registered trials | 0 |
| Certificate of analysis | Published by the partner |
| Regulatory status | Research-grade material, no approved human use |
1. The protocol on record
Hard disclaimer. Figures below are transcribed from a published study or an approved label exactly as the source states them. They record what researchers administered in a trial population, not instructions for any person, and none of it is adjusted to you. Most compounds here have no approved human use. Do not act on any of it without a licensed prescriber who knows your history.
Amounts and schedules, human record
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Healthy-volunteer resting-state fMRI study of the default mode network | 1% | not stated | not stated | intranasal | single administration; fMRI directly before and 5 and 20 min after | source |
| Healthy-participant resting-state fMRI study of functional connectivity | not stated | not stated | not stated | injection | single administration; fMRI before and 5 and 20 min after | source |
| Optic neuropathy of vascular origin, main group of a physiotherapy complex study | 0.1% | not stated | not stated | endonasal electrophoresis | course length not stated; assessments before treatment and at 1, 12 and 24 weeks after the course | source |
Animal and laboratory models (not human figures)
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rat brain ischemia model; NMT tripeptide mixture arm, semax as reference drug | 150 and 300 mg/kg | per day | not stated | not stated | not stated | source |
| Mouse hypoxia model, hermetic and altitude chamber; NMT mixture arm, semax as comparator | 10, 50 and 150 mg/kg | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | source |
| Rat scopolamine amnesia model; NMT mixture arm, semax stated as given in equal doses | 50 and 150 mg/kg | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | source |
| Mouse amnesia model, maximal electroshock and complex extreme factors; NMT mixture arm, semax as comparator | 50 and 150 mg/kg | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | source |
| Rat transcallosal evoked potential model; NMT mixture arm, semax stated as given in equal dose | 50 mg/kg | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | source |
Half-life and why the schedule looks like that
No half-life, clearance, or duration-of-action figure is stated anywhere in the cited record for semax. What the record does state is administration timing: - In a resting-state fMRI study, healthy volunteers received a single intranasal administration of 1% semax, with imaging directly before and 5 and 20 minutes after (PMID: 30225715). - In a second resting-state fMRI study, healthy participants received a single injection of semax, with imaging before and 5 and 20 minutes after (PMID: 32342318). - In a rat brain ischemia study, a dosing frequency of "per day" is stated, but it attaches to the experimental tripeptide mixture NMT, for which semax served as the reference drug; the abstract d
Handling and storage
- Lyophilised storage: Not stated in the cited record. - Storage after reconstitution: Not stated in the cited record. - Temperature: Not stated in the cited record. - Light: Not stated in the cited record. - Stability duration: Not stated in the cited record.
These figures summarise what published research and approved labels describe. They are educational, not a recommendation or a personal protocol. Any dose, schedule, or decision to use a compound belongs with a licensed prescriber.
Open the interactive builder for reconstitution maths and a calendar →
2. Safety and harm reduction
Reported adverse effects
No adverse effects are reported in the cited record for Semax. That is an absence of published reporting, not evidence of safety.
Cautions stated in the literature
- A 2026 narrative review of therapeutic peptides in gerontology, which included semax among the peptides reviewed, states that non-approved peptides showed promising preclinical and limited clinical evidence but lack long-term safety data and systematic validation (PMID: 42021992).
- A 2026 review of therapeutic peptides in orthopaedics, which discusses semax among neuroactive peptides, states that although preclinical studies are promising, there is a current lack of clinical trials (PMID: 41490200).
Stop and get help
- A severe or worsening reaction after administration: stop and contact a licensed clinician.
- Signs of an allergic reaction, such as rash, itching, swelling of the face or throat, or difficulty breathing: stop and contact a licensed clinician.
- Signs of infection at an administration site, such as spreading redness, warmth, swelling, pain, or discharge: stop and contact a licensed clinician.
- Anything unexpected that persists: stop and contact a licensed clinician.
Pairings
Co-studied
Selank and Semax
Two neuroactive peptides measured in one brain-imaging study, in separate groups. Measured together is not the same as given together.
Open the pairing brief →Semax at Peptara Labs
Open the Semax pageRead the third-party certificate of analysis before anything else. Research-grade material, research use only.