← Compound library
Tirzepatide
An approved dual-incretin medicine with strong human evidence. This atlas covers it for research context only; its affiliate partner has discontinued it, so no buy path is shown.
The basics
| Human protocol on record | 14 figures |
|---|---|
| Animal or laboratory figures | 0 |
| Published records retrieved | 27 |
| Registered trials | 20 |
| Certificate of analysis | Published by the partner |
| Regulatory status | Has an approved label for one specific indication, which is not approval for any other purpose |
1. The protocol on record
Hard disclaimer. Figures below are transcribed from a published study or an approved label exactly as the source states them. They record what researchers administered in a trial population, not instructions for any person, and none of it is adjusted to you. Most compounds here have no approved human use. Do not act on any of it without a licensed prescriber who knows your history.
Amounts and schedules, human record
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Approved use, type 2 diabetes and chronic weight management, as stated in a 2025 review | 5, 10 and 15 mg | once weekly | not stated | not stated | not stated | source |
| Phase 3 trial (SURPASS-1), type 2 diabetes | 5, 10, or 15 mg | once a week | not stated | not stated | 40 weeks | source |
| Phase 3 trial (SURPASS-5), type 2 diabetes on insulin glargine, titration to assigned dose | 2.5 mg, escalated by 2.5 mg every 4 weeks until the assigned dose was achieved | weekly (initiated at 2.5 mg/week) | not stated | subcutaneous | not stated | source |
| Phase 3 trial (SURPASS-5), type 2 diabetes on insulin glargine, assigned doses | 5 mg, 10 mg, or 15 mg | once weekly | not stated | subcutaneous | 40 weeks | source |
| Phase 3b trial, obesity without type 2 diabetes, maximum tolerated dose | 10 mg or 15 mg (maximum tolerated dose) | once weekly | not stated | subcutaneous | 72 weeks | source |
| Phase 3 randomized-withdrawal trial, obesity, open-label lead-in period | 10 or 15 mg (maximum tolerated dose) | once weekly | not stated | subcutaneous | 36 weeks | source |
| Phase 3 randomized-withdrawal trial, obesity, continue-tirzepatide arm after lead-in | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 52 weeks (weeks 36 to 88) | source |
| Phase 2 trial (SYNERGY-NASH), metabolic dysfunction-associated steatohepatitis with liver fibrosis | 5 mg, 10 mg, or 15 mg | once weekly | not stated | subcutaneous | 52 weeks | source |
| Phase 2 trial, type 2 diabetes | 1 mg, 5 mg, 10 mg, or 15 mg | once weekly | not stated | subcutaneous | 26 weeks | source |
| Obesity-related heart failure (HFpEF) trial, CMR substudy, parent-study regimen | 2.5 mg, increasing to a maximum of 15 mg | weekly | not stated | subcutaneous | not stated | source |
| Biomarker study of beta-cell function and insulin resistance, type 2 diabetes | 1, 5, 10, 15 mg | not stated | not stated | not stated | 26 weeks | source |
| Phase 1, single-ascending dose part, healthy subjects | 0.25-8 mg | not stated | not stated | not stated | single ascending doses | source |
| Phase 1, multiple-ascending dose part, healthy subjects | 0.5-10 mg | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4 weeks | source |
| Phase 1b proof-of-concept, multiple dose, type 2 diabetes; doses higher than 5 mg attained by titration | 0.5-15 mg | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4 weeks | source |
Half-life and why the schedule looks like that
No cited source states a numeric half-life, clearance value, or duration of action. What the record states is a dosing frequency, and a pharmacokinetic rationale for it: - The phase 1 discovery and proof-of-concept paper describes tirzepatide (LY3298176) as "a fatty acid modified peptide with dual GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist activity designed for once-weekly subcutaneous administration," and states that its pharmacokinetic profile, investigated over 0.25 to 15 mg, "supports once-weekly administration" (PMID:30473097). - Once-weekly subcutaneous dosing is the regimen in the human trials across the record: SURPASS-1 (PMID:34186022), SURPASS-5 (PMID:35133415), SURMOUNT-4 (PMID:38078870), SUR
Handling and storage
- Lyophilised storage: Not stated in the cited record. - Storage after reconstitution: Not stated in the cited record. No cited source describes reconstitution of tirzepatide at all. - Temperature: Not stated in the cited record. - Light protection: Not stated in the cited record. - Stability duration: Not stated in the cited record. - What the record does state about presentation: the approved product "comes as single-dose prefilled pens and single-dose vials" (PMID:38388874). The stored record contains no label document, so no label storage instruction can be transcribed here.
These figures summarise what published research and approved labels describe. They are educational, not a recommendation or a personal protocol. Any dose, schedule, or decision to use a compound belongs with a licensed prescriber.
Open the interactive builder for reconstitution maths and a calendar →
2. Safety and harm reduction
Reported adverse effects
| Effect | How often reported | Population | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gastrointestinal adverse events overall | Most commonly reported adverse events; dose dependent: 39% (95% CI 35% to 43%) at 5 mg, 46% (42% to 49%) at 10 mg, 49% (38% to 60%) at 15 mg | Meta-analysis of 10 trials, 6836 participants | PMID:36789109 |
| Nausea and diarrhoea | Most frequent gastrointestinal events at any dose of tirzepatide | Meta-analysis of 10 trials, 6836 participants | PMID:36789109 |
| Gastrointestinal events, mostly mild to moderate | The most common adverse events in both treatment groups; occurred primarily during dose escalation | Phase 3b trial (SURMOUNT-5), adults with obesity without type 2 diabetes | PMID:40353578 |
| Gastrointestinal events, mostly mild to moderate | The most common adverse events; occurred more commonly with tirzepatide than with placebo | Phase 3 randomized-withdrawal trial (SURMOUNT-4), adults with obesity or overweight | PMID:38078870 |
| Nausea | More frequent than with placebo, especially at 15 mg (OR 5.60, 95% CI 3.12 to 10.06) | Systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trials, adults with type 2 diabetes | PMID:35579691 |
| Vomiting | Higher incidence than with placebo at 15 mg (OR 5.50, 95% CI 2.40 to 12.59) | Systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trials, adults with type 2 diabetes | PMID:35579691 |
| Diarrhoea | Higher incidence than with placebo at 15 mg (OR 3.31, 95% CI 1.40 to 7.85); higher than with GLP-1 receptor agonists at 10 mg (OR 1.51, 95% CI 1.07 to 2.15) | Systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trials, adults with type 2 diabetes | PMID:35579691 |
| Nausea, diarrhoea, decreased appetite, vomiting | The most common adverse events; mostly mild to moderate in severity | Review of phase 3 SURPASS trials, adults with type 2 diabetes | PMID:38388874 |
| Mild hypoglycaemia (blood glucose below 70 mg/dL) | Incidence highest at the 10 mg dose: 22.6% (95% CI 9.2% to 39.8%) | Meta-analysis of 10 trials, 6836 participants | PMID:36789109 |
| Clinically significant (below 54 mg/dL) or severe hypoglycaemia | None reported with tirzepatide | Phase 3 trial (SURPASS-1), adults with type 2 diabetes | PMID:34186022 |
| Discontinuation of study drug due to adverse events | Dose dependent; highest at 15 mg (10%) | Meta-analysis of 10 trials, 6836 participants | PMID:36789109 |
| Discontinuation of study medication due to adverse events | Higher at 15 mg regardless of comparator | Systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trials, adults with type 2 diabetes | PMID:35579691 |
| Premature treatment discontinuation (any reason) | 10% at 5 mg, 12% at 10 mg, 18% at 15 mg, versus 3% with placebo | Phase 3 trial (SURPASS-5), adults with type 2 diabetes on insulin glargine | PMID:35133415 |
| Fatal adverse events and severe hypoglycaemia | Extremely low (1% or less) across all doses; described as rare | Meta-analysis of 10 trials, 6836 participants | PMID:36789109 |
| Acute pancreatitis, cholelithiasis, cholecystitis | Extremely low (1% or less) across all doses; described as rare | Meta-analysis of 10 trials, 6836 participants | PMID:36789109 |
Cautions stated in the literature
- Gastrointestinal adverse events, the most common adverse events in a phase 3b obesity trial, occurred primarily during dose escalation (PMID:40353578).
- Assigned doses above the starting level were reached by gradual escalation rather than started directly: trials initiated at 2.5 mg/week and escalated by 2.5 mg every 4 weeks until the assigned dose was achieved (PMID:35133415), and in phase 1 work doses higher than 5 mg were attained by titration (PMID:30473097).
- Discontinuation of study medication because of adverse events rose with dose and was highest at the 15 mg dose: 10% in one meta-analysis (PMID:36789109), and higher than comparators regardless of which comparator was used in another (PMID:35579691).
- In a randomized-withdrawal trial, withdrawing tirzepatide after a 36-week lead-in led to substantial regain of the weight that had been lost, while continued treatment maintained most of the reduction (PMID:38078870).
- The approvals described in the record cover adults with type 2 diabetes and adults needing chronic weight management (PMID:38388874, PMID:39632534); a trial in adolescents with obesity was still recruiting at the time the record was pulled (NCT06439277).
- No other contraindication, warning, or drug interaction is stated in the cited record. That is an absence of published reporting in this record, not evidence that none exist.
Stop and get help
- A severe or worsening reaction after any dose.
- Signs of an allergic reaction, such as rash, itching, swelling of the face, lips, tongue or throat, trouble breathing, or dizziness.
- Signs of infection at an injection site, such as spreading redness, warmth, swelling, pain, pus, or fever.
- Anything unexpected that persists rather than resolving on its own.
Pairings
Co-administered
PT-141 and Tirzepatide
A registered trial has begun giving both compounds to the same subjects. No result has been reported, so the pairing is a registration, not a finding.
Open the pairing brief →Tirzepatide at Peptara Labs
The certificate recordMarked discontinued by the company. The certificate record for its last published batch is still open to read.