BPC-157
A pentadecapeptide studied mostly in animal models of tissue injury. Human evidence is small and uncontrolled, and no regulator has approved it.
The basics
| Human protocol on record | 3 figures |
|---|---|
| Animal or laboratory figures | 1 |
| Published records retrieved | 33 |
| Registered trials | 8 |
| Certificate of analysis | Published by the partner |
| Regulatory status | Research-grade material, no approved human use |
1. The protocol on record
Amounts and schedules, human record
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Human pilot study, day 1 (intravenous safety, 2 healthy adults) | 10 mg in 250 cc of normal saline | single infusion | not stated | intravenous, infused over one hour | single dose, day 1 of two consecutive days | source |
| Human pilot study, day 2 (intravenous safety, 2 healthy adults) | 20 mg in 250 cc of normal saline | single infusion | not stated | intravenous, infused over one hour | single dose, day 2 of two consecutive days | source |
| Ex vivo study, human internal mammary artery rings (laboratory tissue study, not administration to a person) | 0.01-1 mg/mL | five consecutive doses, cumulative concentration-response | not stated | applied to isolated artery rings outside the body | not stated | source |
Animal and laboratory models (not human figures)
| Phase or model | Amount | Frequency | Timing | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rat lower limb ischemia-reperfusion injury model | 20 µg/kg | once | at the 45th minute of ischemia | intraperitoneal | single dose | source |
Half-life and why the schedule looks like that
Handling and storage
Open the interactive builder for reconstitution maths and a calendar →
2. Safety and harm reduction
Reported adverse effects
| Effect | How often reported | Population | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| No side effects reported; no measurable effect on tested biomarkers of heart, liver, kidneys, thyroid, or blood glucose | 0 of 2 participants | pilot study, 2 healthy adults receiving intravenous BPC-157 (10 mg day 1, 20 mg day 2) | PMID 40131143 |
| No adverse effects reported | frequency not stated | three human pilot studies (intraarticular knee pain, interstitial cystitis, intravenous safety/pharmacokinetics), as summarized by a narrative review | PMID 40789979 |
| No adverse effects across several organ systems in preclinical safety studies; no clinical safety data found | frequency not stated | preclinical models, as summarized by a systematic review | PMID 40756949 |
| Only a few side effects reported following administration | frequency not stated | literature and patent review, population not specified | PMID 40005999 |
| No reported toxicity; LD1 not achieved | frequency not stated | animal models, as summarized by a review | PMID 34267654 |
Cautions stated in the literature
- BPC-157 has not been approved for use in standard medicine by the FDA and other global regulatory authorities, due to the absence of sufficient and comprehensive clinical studies confirming its health benefits in humans (PMID 40005999).
- A systematic review states that adverse effects are possible due to unregulated manufacturing, contamination, or unknown clinical safety, and that BPC-157 use is banned in professional sports (PMID 40756949).
- BPC-157 was temporarily banned by the World Anti-Doping Agency in 2022; the same review notes it is not currently listed as banned by WADA (PMID 40005999).
- A narrative review states that BPC-157 should be considered investigational and its use approached with caution, given minimal human data and wide availability through non-regulated sources (PMID 40789979).
- A review of injectable peptides states that regenerative peptides including BPC-157 remain investigational, with uncertain safety profiles, product quality concerns, and widespread antidoping restrictions (PMID 42160466).
- A biopharmaceutical review states that there is no approved formulation, no validated dosing regimen, no completed Phase II clinical trial, and that available clinical data derive from fewer than 30 subjects across three uncontrolled pilot studies (PMID 42198317).
Stop and get help
- Any severe or worsening reaction after administration.
- Any sign of an allergic reaction: rash, itching, swelling of the face, lips, tongue or throat, wheezing, or difficulty breathing.
- Any sign of injection-site infection: spreading redness, warmth, swelling, pain, pus, or fever.
- Chest pain, palpitations, fainting, or severe dizziness.
- Any unexpected symptom that persists.
Pairings
BPC-157 and CJC-1295
Named together in the same review articles, never tested together. This page says that plainly and shows why researchers list them side by side.
Open the pairing brief →BPC-157 and GHK-Cu
Named together in the same review articles, never tested together. This page says that plainly and shows why researchers list them side by side.
Open the pairing brief →BPC-157 and Ipamorelin
Named together in the same review articles, never tested together. This page says that plainly and shows why researchers list them side by side.
Open the pairing brief →BPC-157 and TB-500
The pairing behind the informal wolverine nickname. Peptara Labs already publishes a page on this pair, so this is a short router card, not a full brief.
Open the pairing brief →Read the third-party certificate of analysis before anything else. Research-grade material, research use only.